Debbie Knight

A Day in the Life … May 9, 2011

In research log on May 9, 2011 at 11:47 am

From time to time, I will give a glimpse into the “glamorous” life of a research associate and talk about what I’m doing in the lab on a particular day. These entries I will call “A Day in the Life…”

Sometimes things come up in the lab where you have to drop everything (if you can) and do something completely unexpected.

Friday was just such a day.

I had my day planned to do tissue culture for a couple of hours, start an experiment, and then spend the remainder of the day reading scientific journal articles – not the most exciting of Fridays, let me assure you.

I had scheduled training on how to use a confocal microscope at a fee-for-use facility for the following week – a two-week lead time was the soonest I could schedule the training on the microscope.

But on Friday, I got a call from the trainer that the microscope was unexpectedly available in the afternoon – apparently the person with the scheduled time had to go to the hospital instead. This meant that I could go through the training a week earlier than planned, which was a good thing since I had experiments planned that I couldn’t do until I went through the training and could use the microscope.

Since this was important, I felt it was important to drop everything and rush over to do the 3-hour training session, even though I needed to get home to meet a repair person in the afternoon AND I had to get my tissue culture done before I left for the day. Fortunately, my husband was able to meet the repair person at home while I stayed late to do the culture work that had to be done.

Not exactly how I had planned my day, but such is the way of research. Flexibility is important, especially when unexpected things come up.


Leave a Reply

