Debbie Knight

A day in the life: July 29, 2011

In research log on July 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm

From time to time, I will give a glimpse into the “glamorous” life of a research associate and talk about what I’m doing in the lab on a particular day. These entries I will call “A Day in the Life…”

My day, part 1:  Today was Dr. V’s last day as an assistant professor and independent principal investigator. I’ve mentioned him a couple of times in this blog. We gave him a good send off, complete with the local favorite pizza, a good bottle of scotch, and a few good laughs. But despite all that, it remains a sad day.

My day, part 2:  I was all set to order three proteins from a research supplier when I discovered that one of the proteins I was going to order comes in two versions. I have spent the past two and a half hours culling the scientific literature, trying to determine which isoform I should order. I have not hit the mother lode of information yet. The search will continue Monday. I hope I have better luck then.

Ah, research is so glamorous and exciting sometimes!

  1. Did you order the correct isoform?

Leave a Reply

