Debbie Knight

A Day in the Life: May 24, 2012

In research log on May 24, 2012 at 9:05 am


From time to time, I will give a glimpse into the “glamorous” life of a research associate and talk about what I’m doing in the lab on a particular day. These entries I will call “A Day in the Life…”

Today was moving day, of sorts.

I am fortunate to have a desk in a shared office space. If I didn’t, I would commandeer bench space in the lab or a desk in the hallway.  The worst of these three options is the in-the-lab desk because you cannot eat or drink food in the lab (or at your desk).

Luckily, I didn’t have to move out of the office. but four large desks did. They will now live in a new office space with the department’s accountants. (I’m not sure in which office they’d have the most fun, but I’m betting it’d be ours)

So, I spent most of today and earlier this week packing (and unpacking) many of the desks.

I’ve also been helping a new faculty member who will arrive in the fall. He has a rather extensive list of equipment that he will need for his lab. I’ve been tasked with sifting through equipment in two formerly occupied labs, finding some of those items on that list. And then,of course, moving it to the space that will be his lab.

Both tasks have made the week very “exciting,” let me assure you. But that’s life in a research lab sometimes.

Leave a Reply

