Debbie Knight

The first day to becoming great doctors — welcome medical school class of 2016!

In observation on August 13, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Today, apparently, is the first day of medical school for many students at my university.

I’ve seen countless people running around the first floor and outside my building in short white coats that come down to the middle of their hips. (The long white coats are reserved for those who have already earned their medical degree)

Soon their pockets will be bulging (and I do mean bulging to the point of ripping) with stethoscopes, otoscopes, ophthalmoscopes, pens and scores of sheets of paper. They will look even more like medical students.

Some of them stride confidently and proudly down the hall while others scurry with a hint of anxiety flickering in their eyes.

I can’t help but look at them in awe: here are some of the brightest people I will ever set eyes upon, full of potential. And possibly, some day, my physician.

Will they all make it?

Many will.

Will they become the kind of doctor they hope to become?

To this I answer “I hope not.”

I hope they are better!

I hope they become the most compassionate and genuinely caring physicians they can be. Ones who take the time to listen (really listen) to their patients. Ones that take time with each patient rather than worrying about staying on an overbooked schedule.

I hope, rather than becoming good doctors,  they become great doctors.

Good luck class of Medical School Class of 2016! Be the best you can be!

Leave a Reply

