Debbie Knight

A Day in the Life: August 30, 2012

In A Day in the Life, research log on August 30, 2012 at 9:30 am

From time to time, I will give a glimpse into the “glamorous” life of a research associate and talk about what I’m doing in the lab. These entries I will call “A Day in the Life…” 

We have a film processor in our lab. We use it to develop plastic films that have been exposed to small amounts of light produced by a chemical reaction to help us look at proteins in our samples.

The film processor uses three solutions: a developer, a fixer, and water.

Usually our developer and fixer solutions are delivered by our service guy in a carboy.

However, we ran out of developer and they shipped us a bunch of smaller bottles. I thought it was a little weird that there were two different sized bottles in the box. It wasn’t until I read the directions on the back of one of those bottles that I realized that some assembly was required.

This was a first for me!

One bottle of solution “A” and one of “B” and an equal amount of water.

Sounds easy enough.

And it was pretty easy, but I think I prefer the service guy bringing it already made. Less time, less mess.

  1. Was it cheaper this time around due to you having to assemble it? Call up that sales rep and negotiate a discount. 🙂

Leave a Reply

